Once Upon a One Night Mistake – Story Seasons & Updated FAQ

If you’ve been keeping up with the new chapters of Once Upon a One Night Mistake (previously titled “Once Upon a One Night Stand”) or Roses & Thorns on Radish, you’ve probably noticed how those stories are now split into a little something called “seasons.”

What are these seasons, you ask? Well, it’s a new organizational tool for stories. Think of them like seasons of a TV show, only for books! For longer stories, grouping chapters into seasons can help break things up so you’re not so overwhelmed by the sheer number of them. For series, writers can combine several books into one, so that readers don’t have to exit the first book to find the others in the series. So “season 1” would be the first book in the series, “season 2” would be the second book, etc.

I think it’s a fantastic way to help both writers and readers feel more comfortable with stories that might have hundreds (or even thousands) of chapters. I’m a big fan of it!

Now, I want to explain how I organized the seasons of Once Upon a One Night Mistake. If you’ve been reading the story, you might have already noticed, but here’s a full breakdown of the seasons and an updated FAQ about the story!

What are the different seasons of Once Upon a One Night Mistake?

Since the new chapters of OUAONM mainly take place while the characters are in college, I figured the best way to split the story into seasons was to simply follow the typical student’s calendar: I split it up by semester, school years, and school breaks. Makes sense, right?

Here’s the breakdown of the story seasons.

SEASON 1Chapter 1 to Chapter 52 – The original story, which takes place during the group’s senior year of high school. Chapter 52 overlaps with Chapter 4 of Arabian Nights.

SEASON 2Chapter 53 to Chapter 92 – Summer break after they graduate from high school. Beginning of Arabian Nights timeline.

SEASON 3Chapter 93 to Chapter 179 – Freshman year of college, fall semester

SEASON 4Chapter 180 to Chapter 222 – Winter holidays

SEASON 5Chapter 223 to Chapter 299 – Freshman year of college, spring semester

SEASON 6Chapter 300 to Chapter 352 – Summer break before sophomore year

SEASON 7Chapter 353 to Chapter 427 – Sophomore year of college (fall & spring semesters)

SEASON 8Chapter 428 to Chapter 474 – Summer break before junior year, the entirety of junior year, and the summer break before senior year, up until July 1. The last chapter of the season overlaps with Chapter 1 of Dryland.

SEASON 9Chapter 475 to Chapter 572 – Beginning of Dryland timeline, beginning on July 1 and onwards, covering the rest of the summer, fall semester of senior year, and winter break.

SEASON 10Chapter 573 to Chapter 633 – Senior year, spring semester to graduation

SEASON 11Chapter 634 to Chapter 765 – Summer after graduation

SEASON 12 Chapter 766 to Chapter 862 – Summer after graduation (continued)

SEASON 13Chapter 863 to Chapter 952 – Grad school fall semester/fall after undergrad graduation

SEASON 14Chapter 953 to Chapter 1047 – Fall (continued) and Thanksgiving

SEASON 15Chapter 1048 to current chapter – Winter break

Frequently Asked Questions

How many new chapters will there be?

This can still be considered an “infinite” story. There is no set amount of chapters I’m aiming for. The only goal is to chronicle all the things that happen (for all the characters) over the course of the series timeline (Once Upon a One Night Mistake, Arabian Nights, Dryland, and Roses & Thorns). Now that we’re moving into the timeline established in Dryland (Book 3), we’ll be covering the events (and more) of that story from various POVs.

Do we have to read Arabian Nights and Dryland in order to understand these new chapters?

YES, YOU DO! You will miss extremely important plot points and character development if you don’t read them. I suggest reading Arabian Nights immediately following Season 1 of Once Upon a One Night Mistake. As for Dryland, you can read it at any point after you’ve read Season 1 of OUAONM and all of Arabian Nights.

What’s the best order to read The Fairytale Series in?

I have a post about that here! That page will always have the most recent information about The Fairytale Series, so be sure to check back there often!

Will you go past the Dryland timeline in the new chapters of OUAONM?

Most likely, yes! However, that is still to be determined. The new chapters of OUAONM may continue past the events of the last chapter of Dryland. Or Dryland could be continued, just like OUAONM was, with more character POVs. Or it could end up being a new book. I’m not sure yet, and that’s a discussion I’ll be having in the future with the team at Radish. But for now, I wouldn’t worry too much about it. Getting through the timeline of Dryland will take us quite a while anyway!

Why haven’t the Avilla twins shown up much in the more recent chapters of OUAONM?

The new chapters of OUAONM show their senior year of high school and the summer before they go off to college, but I wanted to keep their college escapades separate. I suggested to Radish that we give them their own book (titled Double Trouble) but unfortunately, I did not receive the greenlight to continue it with their help. However, the twins will return to the chapters of OUAONM once they’re finished with college!

If you have any other questions, feel free to drop them in the comments! And if you haven’t already, I hope you’ll check out the new chapters of Once Upon a One Night Mistake!

2 thoughts on “Once Upon a One Night Mistake – Story Seasons & Updated FAQ

  1. Simone,
    Love your Fairy Tale series. But what about the end of Roses & Thorns?? Leaving us hanging with Khalid still in hiding?! Thanks


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s